Why Work With Demons?

Why Work With Demons?

When I first started getting visited by spirits, I did not believe in them. First parasites and shit spirits came. Then Lucifer and Lilith. Then Bune and Gremori. I started learning about wtf was going on through the other forum, and that is the magickal framework that I absorbed. A modern form of ritual magick with demons from The Lesser Key of Solomon that pushed a new narrative; demons want to empower you and even love you.

The more I grow on this path, the more I am pulled away from this ideology. I adore Bune. And who could deny the might of King Paimon or Prince Orobas? But at the end of the day, these spirits were specifically classified as “evil” in a text that listed plenty of “good” and “mixed” spirits that can also be worked with. No need to cojolle and threaten and bind and be aggressive and watch your back. The original methods for working with these spirits mandated that you did. I’m not concerned about “morality”, so much as difficulty and reliability.

Why do we seem to only work with demons from the Lesser Key of Solomon, and not the demons from Grimorum Verum and the like? Is it because they were not popular in the published literature and online posts of the other forum? Why do we not work with the other spirits in the Lesser Key of Solomon, or the abundant intelligences of the Earth and the dead and the planets and the Gods and so forth? Have people tried and not gotten as good of a result, or have they not attempted it because of a collective adoration of the spirits of The Ars Goetia?

Why buy good apples from a guy that you know you need to bring a knife with you when you go, when you can get perfectly good apples from someone down the road who you don’t need to flex for? Is it because the stand is more popular? Is the added element of danger more exciting?